Happiness

Being away at college definitely has its perks; freedom, independence, no curfew, and living in a unique, learning filled environment… but at the same time being away from my family is always a down-side to that. I do get to see my parents quite often though, as they love coming down to Lawrence for games, my sorority functions, and random shopping outtings on Mass. St., but the one family member that I don’t get to see nearly as often as I would like, is my adorable doggy Teddy. As previously mentioned, he is a white golden doodle and my family is basically obsessed with him. While I miss him terribly, I have found the cure for this lack of Teddy while I’m away at college; volunteering at the Lawrence Humane Society.

The Lawrence Humane Society is a truly great organization that provides shelter for over 7,000 homeless animals who are available to be adopted into loving homes. They also provide emergency rescue services and conduct cruelty investigations in order to keep animals safe around the Lawrence community and the Douglas county area. I always get such a great feeling after I volunteer at this shelter knowing that I made one animals day by simply offering some much appreciated petting, frisbee throwing, and maybe a biscuit or two. Nothing is better than seeing any dog’s tail wag with excitement when you open their kennel door and knowing you can give them any amount of happiness is a gift in itself.

So whenever I’m getting the Teddy blues, its great to know that this great organization exists right down the street where I can get all the puppy lovin I need. Click on their link below to learn how you too can volunteer and help an adorable furry friend!

http://lawrencehumane.org/

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Happiness

  1. Mark says:

    Thanks for the link to the Lawrence Humane Society (and for your work as a volunteer). I will check it out and maybe, bring home a companion for my dog.

  2. Lisa says:

    Miss you too Shannon and I know Teddy misses you!

Leave a Reply

